Skip to content

Sport: Do big breasts make a difference?

March 19, 2014
article-0-09C237CA000005DC-658_468x327

Big decision: Simona Halep had 34DD breasts

When I was younger I had ambitions to be a professional swimmer. I used to swim at a junior county level and was unbeaten in the first team at school. But then the inevitable happened… Boobs.

Ok, I admit it’s mightily ambitious to say that my boobs and boobs alone stopped me from getting to London 2012.  They actually had nothing to do with it. The truth is that I moved to a school with an outside pool slash pond and a 65-year-old swimming coach slash basket case and I decided that I’d rather spend my mornings in bed and my evenings with friends than underwater. It wasn’t a hard decision.

But I have always wondered: if the will had been there, would my boobs have stopped me from competing at a higher level? (I’ve also wondered if they make you float but that’s for another blog)

Romanian tennis player Simona Halep has given me the answer.

As a professional sports woman with 34DD breasts she decided to take action. She said, “It’s the weight that troubles me. My ability to react quickly, my breasts make me uncomfortable when I play. I don’t like them in my everyday life, either.”

1

Getting in the way: Halep’s boobs looked fake

Despite a petition from fans she had surgery in 2010, which took her down to a 34C. But has it helped?

Erm, in a short answer: YES.

She’s moved up 450 places in the world ranking. FOUR HUNDRED AND FIFTY. She’s now #5 in the world. Her boobs were literally and figuratively weighing her down.

article-1281502-09BCE89D000005DC-552_468x435

A weight off her chest: Halep after surgery

article-0-09C238FF000005DC-662_468x472

A rising star: She’s soared up the world rankings

I find that mildly depressing because I’d like to imagine that Adlington and I- as well as being the best of friends- could have fought it out for that Gold. Or that Balders would have been cheering me from the commentary box. Ah well. I suppose I should be glad that I didn’t swap my comrades for the chlorine and get my tits out for the lads instead. No, obviously I won’t do that.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

